Women In Science and Technology Who Inspire Me

Women In Science and Technology Who Inspire Me

·

3 min read

I believe you can relate with me when I say that seeing someone who looks like me doing what I want to do boosts my motivation.

It gives me confidence that I, too, can do it. It drives my determination because I know I have what it takes to succeed.

Women in technology who have made significant contributions to the field are one of the reasons I continue on my technological journey every day.

There are numerous examples of these remarkable women in the tech field, and I'd like to share with you seven of them who inspire me.

Shirley Ann Jackson, M.D.

Shirley A. Jackson was the first African-American woman to receive a doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Her discoveries aided in the development of the fax machine, touch-tone phone, fiber optic cells, solar cells, and the technology underlying caller ID and call waiting.

The next time you see call waiting, remember Shirley A Jackson made that possible.

“Do not be limited by what others expect of you, but confidently reach for the stars!” Dr. Shirley Jackson

Leila Janah

Sama was founded by Leila Janah. A good source of training data for AI teams.

I admire her commitment to creating jobs for the world's poorest communities. Her innovation was created with the goal of eradicating poverty in mind.

"The greatest challenge of the next 50 years will be to create dignified work for everyone... not through handouts and charity, but through market forces," she believed.

That is also something I believe.

Coming from the same part of the world that inspired her work, I too want technology to open up new possibilities for people, because we shouldn't be constrained by our geographical locations.

”Handouts are not going to end global poverty, but work.” Leila Janah

Marie Maynard Daly

Marie M Daly was a biochemist from the United States.

She was the first African-American woman to receive a Ph.D. in chemistry in the United States.

She established a scholarship fund at Queens College, her alma mater, to aid minority students pursuing degrees in physical sciences.

Reshma Saujani

Have you heard of Girls who code?

Reshma Saujani is the founder.

It is a non-profit organization dedicated to introducing girls as young as third graders to coding in a fun way.

I admire her for taking the initiative.

One of the reasons we have fewer women in tech is a lack of exposure to computers and the assumption that boys were the only ones who loved technology.

She is nurturing the interest of young girls in coding and rewriting the story with her organization.

Mae Carol Jemison

She’s my namsake ☺️

The first black woman to go to space!

Mmm… Maybe I’ll be the first one too in something haha…

Technology is still evolving, and I am committed to keeping up.

Mae Jemison is a former NASA astronaut, engineer, and physician from the United States.

She was the first African-American woman to travel into space.

Her first space flight was aboard the shuttle Endeavour on a mission in 1992.

At the time, Mae Jemison was the only African American female astronaut.

Patricia Bath

Patricia Bath was also a first in her field.

She created a better laser cataract surgery device.

Bath was the first black woman doctor to receive a medical patent.

Tavonia Evans

Women are not left out in the evolving internet world.

We are moving with technology.

Tavonia is one proof of this.

She is the developer who is responsible for the creation of the GUAP coin. A cryptocurrency that is based on the Ethereum Blockchain.

I see her work and I know I too can create that awesome NFT and crypto.

These are some of the women that I look up to.

Their achievements remind me that anything is achievable. No limitations can hold you back as long as you have the will.

What about you?

Tell me about some of the women who inspire you 🙂

Buy Me A Coffee